Droid Hackathon at Home -> A fun app :)

Recently, favourable winds in my direction at work ensured that the Senior Management handed me the responsibility of leading my team into developing an Android app for a newly launched Zoho app. In a very short period of time, we were able to release the app (Thanks to my super focussed and passionate team) and it so far, our customers are loving it. During the course of development, we came across quite a few of challenges and I personally learnt a lot.

After all these experiences, I was toying with the idea of developing an Android app (a fun app) in one night/day – more like Droid-hackthon at home. I decided to take up this challenge on August 14th night and planned to come up with a working app before Aug 15th night.

The previous week I saw Anjana playing with her iPad (Yes all mobile devices at home are her’s only and not ours πŸ˜‰ ) She says β€œA” after the tablet says A and taps on it… and repeats B and so on. I noticed that the FREE version of the app had only 5 alphabets and in order to get 26 alphabets, I had to upgrade (what the heck).. So there was my app requirement, staring right at my face. I decided to write a complete alphabet app on my own and take it up on Droid-hackthon day.

Started working on this app (August 14th – 9 PM) by choosing the different fonts for the app and deciding on the features to be added in the app. After putting everything together, I was able to come up with the working version in 5 hours time. I wanted to put this app in Google Play Store on Aug 15th itself, but (80/20 rule happened) due to some family commitments, I was not able to spend time to finish off the app completely.. Somehow managed to work on it last night and published the app in G Play Store πŸ™‚

Here is what you will find in the app:

With this colorful app, Kids will love learning the English alphabets.There are 7 different fonts in which alphabets appear in the app . A different version comes up each time you tap on the magic button or anywhere on the screen. The app contains flashcards to teach your kids and also a quiz to check how well your kid has learnt.

Curious to know how the app looks? Take a look at the below screenshots,

Screenshot_2013-08-28-15-46-14Β Screenshot_2013-08-28-15-46-24Β Screenshot_2013-08-28-15-47-56

Screenshot_2013-08-28-15-47-18Β Screenshot_2013-08-28-15-47-01Β Screenshot_2013-08-28-15-46-32

Go ahead and install the app here

Android app on Google Play

If you like the app, do rate it in GPlay Store πŸ™‚ If you find any missing features or any glaring mistakes, do comment it here.. will get it rectified πŸ™‚

I’m planning to do Droid-hackathon at home in coming months as well.. So you can expect atleast one fun app for every single month.. Stay tuned!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

